zeynep4Born in İstanbul, Zeynep Atakan graduated from the Department of Film and Television at the Faculty of Fine Arts at Marmara University. From 1986 to 1999, she worked in various roles in the television advertisement industry and specialized as a producer. After 1994, she continued her work at the company she co-founded.

In 1999, Atakan transitioned to the film industry and started producing international film projects. In 2007, she started Zeynofilm, a company dedicated to producing film projects.

In 2010, Atakan was awarded the European Film Academy’s Best European Co-Producer award. The same year, she launched the Yapımlab Workshops, with which she aims to share her experience and knowledge as a producer with young filmmakers.

Atakan has been the Chairwoman of SE-YAP, the Turkish Movie Producers Professional Association since 2011, and is also Vice President of EWA, the European Women’s Audiovisual Network, which works towards equal opportunities for women working in the audiovisual industries in Europe and around the world.

In 2014, Atakan was awarded the Uçan Süpürge Bilge Olgaç Achievement Award, and her latest production Winter Sleep won the Palme d’Or at the 67th Cannes Film Festival, the festival’s most prestigious award.

Zeynep Atakan started the Antalya Film Forum, a co-production and project development market organized as part of the International Antalya Film Festival since 2014, and continues to work as its director. Atakan also organizes the Turkey section of the Young Audience Award, a new project by the European Film Academy.

She is the art director of the Sabancı Foundation Short Film Platform.

Atakan is a member of the European Film Academy and the Asia Pacific Screen Academy.


2014 Winter Sleep, Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan
2011 Once Upon A Time in Anatolia, Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan
2008 Three Monkeys, Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan
2006 Climates, Director: Nuri Bilge Ceylan
2002 Innowhereland, Director: Tayfun Pirselimoğlu
1999 Lola+Bilidikid, Director: Kutluğ Ataman

Network Memberships

– EFA (European Film Academy)
– APSA (Asia Pacific Screen Academy)
– EWA (European Women’s Audiovisual Network) – Vice President